An unpredictable Valentine’s

In a blink of an eye, there is goes.. 2016 Valentine’s Day.. I knew.. Valentine’s, who cares? It sounds rhyming and perfectly matched.. and what’s so special about it?

I, myself, almost never celebrate Valentine’s especially when I’m single, which is too many years to count, and even on the Valentine 2014 before I met mas Adi (Didut) I wanted to runaway from Jakarta.. I can’t stand being single anymore.. I have to go out, so I was planned to go to Bali on that day. Not just planned, I was there, at the airport on 14th February 2014, with my best friend Grace, running away from the Valentine’s pressure in Jakarta, hoping to find a light in the tunnel, in Bali.

Screen Shot 2016-02-09 at 5.07.41 PM
Me and my best friend Grace

Our plane was scheduled to fly around 10 am, but then it’s postponed due to the volcanic dust of Merapi Mountain. The postponement kept happening until 4 pm. I was almost lost of hope. The airlines provides snacks and lunch to the passengers. I saw an Indonesian celebrity as well sat near us, Acha Septriasa, with her friend, looked very nervous as well when the plane was kept postponed. It was happened to our airline only, while other airline still can fly up to certain hour, then I guessed she took other airline because she can’t wait any longer. While I and my best friend were like stranded passengers waiting for a confirmation if we still had chance to fly or not.

Around 5 pm, the official announcement from the airlines mentioned that all the flight to Bali were cancelled due to the force majeur of the volcano eruption of Merapi. And I was like feeling so doomed. It’s a Valentine day, I’m trying to runaway to get a little hope but then the flight was cancelled after postponing for hours. I was so sad but I had to be kept logic to cancel the hotel booking via Agoda, and fortunately they understood the force majeur situation. We both also had an argument at the check in counter to get our money back but they can only offered us to change the flight dates. And my best friend had to struggle to find our luggage that’s been put not in a right order and it’s like a total mess while so many people were angry and disappointed at the same time.

Screen Shot 2016-02-09 at 5.08.20 PM
Passengers waiting for confirmation in Terminal 3

We decided to go to the nearest mall, to have a quick dinner to cheer our disappointment that day and going home wishing that day will end soon.

But God has a different plan, I guess, few months after, I got introduced with mas Adi, that later becomes my husband on the following year.

Sometimes I wonder myself, maybe I those Valentine’s drama taught me that I wasn’t supposed to go to Bali that day, because the person I’m looking for was not there, maybe I just have to be a little more patience.. Maybe..

 

PS : In the following year, in 2015 Valentine’s day, we had officially dating for 9 months, I got bunch of roses, huge Teddy Bear, nice dinner and we’re preparing for our wedding.. I felt it was all paid off very well..๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “An unpredictable Valentine’s

Leave a Reply

